Longtown Mart


BELLY CLIPPING
As from Thursday 4th November all lambs must be belly clipped prior to the sale.
Facilities are available at the mart
.

Every Thursday - Primestock

Cast Ewes at 7am followed at approx. 11am by Prime Lambs
Cast & Feeding Cows at 1pm
latest report

BREEDING STOCK
For Farm-to-Farm Sales, contact
John Walton 07880 527066 Nick Woodmass 07584 200489 Sam Hogg 07584 207323 Norman Douglas 07786 366833 We have an extensive register of stock for sale


Monday 20th June

Sale of Tractors, Quad Bikes, Commercial Vehicles, Implements, Machinery, Tools & Equipment report
In the mart & live online via marteye.ie.

Tuesday 21st June

Ewes & Hoggs with Lambs at Foot report
Store & Breeding Cattle
report

Saturday 2nd July

Rare & Minority Breed Poultry, Cage Birds & Equipment
**CANCELLED DUE TO APHA REGULATIONS
**

Tuesday 19th July at 10.30am

Opening Sale of Store Lambs
Special July Sale of Store & Breeding Cattle

Monday 25th July
Annual “July Jewels” Evening Sale

Annual Show & Sale of Pedigree Suffolk Rams & Females from Leading Flocks including Production Sales & Dispersals.
Special Annual Summer Sale of Pedigree Texel & other MV Accredited Females
including Production Sales & Dispersals.

Tuesday 26th July

Weekly Sale of Store Lambs

Tuesday 2nd August

Store & Breeding Cattle
Weekly Sale of Store Lambs

Thursday 4th August

Annual Show & Sale for Young Handlers of Prime Lambs
entry form
Sponsored by The Farmers Guardian

Tuesday 9th August

Weekly Sale of Store Lambs

Monday 15th August

Sale of Tractors, Quad Bikes, Commercial Vehicles, Implements, Machinery, Tools & Equipment
In the mart & live online via marteye.ie

Tuesday 16th August

Special August Sale of Store Cattle & Suckler Calves
Beef Breeding Cattle
Special August Sale of Early Season Breeding Sheep
Store Lambs including Special sale of Mule Wether Lambs
Ian Rutter Memorial Trophy for Champion Pen of Alston Moor Lambs

Tuesday 23rd August

The UK's Premier Sale of Cheviot Mule Ewe Lambs & Shearling Gimmers
Show for the Aynsley Cup
Sale of Cheviot Mule Cross Ewe Lambs & Shearling Gimmers

Wednesday 24th August

Weekly Sale of Store Lambs

Monday 29th August

The Beef Shorthorn Cattle Society's Annual Summer Sale of Pedigree Beef Shorthorn Females including Herd Dispersals & Drafts
Show for Pedigree Beef Shorthorn Heifers & Bulls

Tuesday 30th August

Weekly Sale of Store Lambs

Wednesday 31st August

Annual Special Sale of Lowland Breeding Sheep
Prize Show & Sale for North of England & Scotch Mule Shearling Gimmers
Texel, Suffolk & Continental Cross Shearling Gimmers

Tuesday 6th September

Special September Sale of Store & Breeding Cattle
Store Lambs together with First Sale of Cheviots & Blackfaces

Friday 9th September

Closamectin Kelso Ram Sales
C & D are one of the major auctioneers at this event with rams sold to £5,800 & £3,800 in 2021. Entries invited.

Tuesday 13th September

Principal Prize Show & Sale of North of England & Scotch Mule Ewe Lambs. Jacob Thomlinson Memorial Cup for Best Pen of Mule Ewe Lambs
2nd Sale of Cheviot Mule Ewe Lambs & Shearlings
Greyface, Continental & Other Breed Ewes & Shearlings

Evening Multi-Breed Ram Sale
Rams & Ram Lambs of All Classes

Wednesday 14th September

Store Lambs incl. Special Sale for Top Draw Cheviots

Saturday 17th September
ANNUAL KINTYRE SALE

Rams, Breeding & Store Sheep for Kintyre Agricultural Society at Campbeltown

Tuesday 20th September

Store & Breeding Cattle
Store Lambs incl. Special Sale for Cheviots & Blackfaces

Tuesday 27th September

Second Sale of Mule Ewe Lambs
Sale of Lowland Breeding Sheep – ewes, shearlings & ewe lambs
Store Lambs


Animal Welfare: Notice To All Sheep Consignors

We have been reminded by DEFRA and Trading Standards that any animals showing signs of ill health (eg. emaciation, lameness, lice, scab, etc.) and likely to be unfit for onward travel should not be accepted onto mart premises and will be returned home. Costs which may arise from attempts to send such animals will be passed back to the consignor. Thank you for your co-operation in this matter. Animal welfare is our priority.


Please subscribe to our mailing list to receive notification of sale updates

By entering your email address you consent to receive regular updates about upcoming sales and market reports. Please do not enter your email address if you do not wish to receive regular updates. To view our GDPR Data Protection Policy, please click here